Ateneo Campus Ministry: Suggested prayers before class

ateneophysicshandbook_prayers_before_class_20151021_2

Some suggested prayers before class

1. ANONYMOUS

O Spirit of God, we ask you to help orient
All our actions by your inspirations,
Carry them on by your gracious assistance,
That every prayer and work of ours
May always begin from you
And through you be happily ended.

2. ST. IGNATIUS OF LOYOLA

Dearest Lord, teach me to be generous.
Teach me to serve you as you deserve;
To give and not to count the cost,
To fight and not to heed the wounds,
To toil and not to seek for rest,
To labor and not to ask for reward,
Save that of knowing that I do your will.
will affect everything.

3. PEDRO ARRUPE, SJ*

Nothing is more practical
than finding God,
that is, than falling in Love in a quite absolute, final way.
What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination,
will affect everything.
It will decide
what will get you out of bed in the morning,
what you will do with your evenings,
how you spend your weekends,
what you read, what you know that breaks your heart,
and what amazes you
with joy and gratitude.
Fall in love, stay in love,
and it will decide everything.

(Since these are not addressed to God, these words by Fr. Arrupe are less of a prayer and more of an exhortation to love.)

4. PAT BERGEN, C.S.J.

Gracious God,

Thank you for the gift of today.
Refresh me. Invite me to discover your presence
In each person that I meet
And every event that I encounter.
Teach me when to speak and when to listen,
When to ponder and when to share.
In moments of challenge and decision
Attune my heart to the whisperings of your Wisdom.
As I undertake ordinary and unnoticed tasks,
Gift me with simple joy.
When my day goes well, may I rejoice.
When it grows difficult, surprise me with new possibilities.
When life is overwhelming,
Call me to Sabbath moments
To restore your Peace and Harmony.
May my living today reveal your Goodness.

Amen.

5. JOSEPH P. SHADLE

Let us begin with a moment of silence to welcome God’s
presence—

Good and Loving God,
we thank you for creating the world in all its beauty.
We thank you for memory, which enables us to build
on the experiences of the past;
For imagination, which admits us to a wider world
than we could otherwise know;
And for foresight, by which we plan for the future.
Bless this unseen work that we do
on behalf of our students who,
through their Jesuit education,
will strive to make a difference in the world.
We ask this in Your name.

Amen.

6. ST. THOMAS AQUINAS

Come, Holy Spirit, Divine Creator,
True source of light and fountain of wisdom!
Pour forth your brilliance upon my dense intellect,
Dissipate the darkness which covers me,
that of sin and of ignorance.

Grant me a penetrating mind to understand,
a retentive memory,
Method and ease in learning,
the lucidity to comprehend,
And abundant grace in expressing myself.

Guide the beginning of my work, direct its progress,
And bring it to successful completion.
This I ask through Christ, our Lord.

Amen.

SOURCES

1. www.ignatianspirituality.com

2. www.xavier.edu/jesuitresource

3. www.catholic.org/Prayer

About ateneophysicsnews
Physics News and Features from Ateneo de Manila University

Leave a Reply

